Thursday, December 31, 2009

Na Na Na Na..Goodbye 2009

What a year it has been..Good ,Bad, Ugly, spectacular, amazing, lonely, just ...WOW!
America changed this year. I believe that most of us have gotten back to the basics..no more splurging. Well, not a lot of splurging. I still do it every now and then.
I look back at 2009 with awe. So many things to be grateful for. What A life I have. I'm not rivh in any sense of the word..but I have been so blessed. My little home is warm. My truck works. My son is healthy..and we have the health care in case ....
My husband works (he's a Chief in the Navy) I have a very part time job. My extended family are safe and healthy. I couldn't ask for much more.
In parting on this post..I wish all of you a very happy and healthy New Year. God bless you and peace to all!

Monday, December 28, 2009

The "Christian Right" have it all wrong

Some people reading this are going to disagree as soon as they read the title...but keep reading and see what you think.

As I said before, I am a "Mormon" I am a "Christian" I believe in God, I believe in Jesus Christ. I believe that Jesus died for our sins, I believe that God loves me..and that all of us, no matter what, are children of God.

What I have a problem with is people who believe that what they believe is the way that EVERYONE must believe. I don't believe in using scriptures to fight your battles. I don't believe that God hates anyone. I don't believe that "HATE" is a family value, and I don't believe that we can tell what a "FAMILY" consists of anymore. I don't think that a leader of any religion should stand at the pulpit and tell the congregation how they should vote.

I believe that people have to think for themselves. Take everything they have learned and decide for themselves what it is they actually believe. I think that a person is much smarter than a crowd. I believe that one voice, if speaking the truth, is much louder than a million voices screaming together. I believe that you should read the scriptures, and instead of taking one verse at a time, remember that at the end..God loves you, no matter what you have done. His son, Jesus Christ died for you. It's not your place to judge, or be judged by anyone here on earth. That in the end, God will decide what your fate will be. He will judge you by the intent of your heart. I'm not saying that criminals shouldn't go to jail, they have to pay for breaking the laws of the land. I am saying, that if you truly believe in what you are doing, if they way you are living makes you truly happy, then don't worry about what others think or say. It's YOUR life. Shame on them for judging you harshly. At the same time, however, you must be willing to be held accountable for your actions. Don't hide behind a lawyer. Stand up and say "This is what I did. This is who I am! Bring it on!" I have NO RESPECT for these "activists" who commit murder or arson, or bombings, then go to court and plead "NOT GUILTY" People, stand up and admit what you did, and tell the world why..you might spend the rest of your life in prison, but at least we'll know you aren't a coward!

Well, my ranting as gone on long enough for now. I still have a lot more to say, but it will have to wait..mommyhood is calling..

Peace to everyone!

Sunday, December 27, 2009

It's Day 1..Sunday

This blog is my way of letting loose all the craziness I see these days. Some people will read this and think "She's just a liberal nut case" others might agree with my rantings. Either way, maybe we'll be able to have some real discussions without name calling or mudslinging. We'll see.

To start off, I am in my 40's. (actually, I AM 40) I come from a long line of conservative Mormon republicans. They are very smart, very religeous, and most of all, my family...so I respect what they think. I usually don't agree with them, but I still listen.

I am married, I am a mom. I vote in every election, and I respect the laws of our land..again, I don't always agree with them, but I don't go out of my way to break them.

I voted for President Obama. I didn't like George W. Bush at all. Not because he was a republican, but because he really didn't have a clue as how to lead this nation. I think President Obama still has a mess to work with, but I believe he is doing his best. I think I should add that if Obama hadn't been elected, I would have supported John McCain. The OFFICE of the President should always be shown respect. ALWAYS! Like I said earlier, I didn't like Bush, but I still showed his office respect.

I am a HUGE supporter of Same-sex marriage. That surprises most people because I am Mormon, but I really do believe that gay people should be allowed the same civil liberties as so called "straight" people. I have a very hard time with homophobic people. I have a hard time with "Church sanctioned gay bashing." This is a battle that I have joined. People need to step out of the "Bible Box" and look at the world for what it really is. Walk in the shoes of the people you fight. Gain a better understanding of those around you. The world isn't a bad place. If we can just accept thise around us, and maybe, just maybe, show them a little love, you might view things the way I do..brighter, happier, full of hope. It took me some time, but I love the differences in the world. It makes life a lot more interesting!

Well, I'll rant some more later..right now I have to go be a mom. Peace to everyone!